2010/2011 Play Writing Mentoship: submissions now being accepted

To participate in the 2010/2011 Playwriting Mentorship Program beginning next fall, you must submit a one-act play to the 2010 Young Playwrights Competition. The three winners of that competition will become the participants in next year’s Play Writing Mentorship and will have their work premiered at the 2011 IGNITE! Youth Festival.

Please click here and scroll down to Playwriting to learn how to make an application to the Young Playwrights Competition. The application deadline is May 1st, 2010.

The 2009/2010 Play Writing Mentorship program is currently underway. We are currently accepting submissions for the 2010/2011 Mentorship.

The three winners of the 2009 Young Playwrights Competition, Christine Quintana, Jennifer Bednard, and Deborah Vogt, have been paired with three of Canada’s premiere playwrights: Shawn Macdonald, Michele Riml, and Amiel Gladstone. Working closely with their mentor, the three participants will be editing and redrafting their winning submissions, preparing the scripts to handed off to the participants in the 2010 Directing Mentorship, who will produce the plays as part of the 2010 IGNITE! Youth Arts festival.

The three shows will run Monday, May 17th to Saturday, May 22nd in The VanCity Culture Lab at The Cultch.

This process will repeat itself next year.


~ by robertleveroos on February 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: